Condobolin High School held a NAIDOC Celebration Assembly on 21 July.

The Acknowledgement of Country was performed by Gemma O’Bryan and Briath Sloane. This was followed by the signing of the National Anthem.

A Minute’s Silence was then held to pay respects to community Elders that have passed.

Condobolin High School Principal Mrs Wendy Scarce then gave the Principal’s Address.

The special guest speaker for the NAIDOC celebration Assembly was Mrs Leanne Hampton, from the NSW Aboriginal Lands Council.

A Healing Country Speech was then delivered by Billie O’Bryan and Kiara Harris.

Condobolin High School Principal Mrs Wendy Scarce presented Academic Excellence Awards to Lara-Lee McRae, Summer Davis, Gemma O’Bryan, Alex-Maree Hewitt, Corey Herbert, Emma Buckland, Kiara Harris, Billie O Bryan and Caitlin Keen.

Lara-Lee McRae, Braith Sloane, Riley Keen, Jamall Coe, Kaiden Atkinson, and Caitlin Keen received Sporting Excellence Awards. Mr Timothy Small presented the certificates.

Mrs Kylie Hope presented the Excellence in Leadership awards, which were won by Billie O’Bryan, Kiara Harris and Caitlin Keen.

Errol Packham, Brycen Porter, Ernest Peterson, and Billie O’Bryan were recognised with Outstanding Contribution to Community Awards. These were presented by Mrs Mel Hughes.

Cultural and Heritage Awards were given to Braith Sloane, Emanuell Peterson, Ernest Peterson, Errol Packham, Ashlee-Nathan Coe, Kiara Harris, Billie O’Bryan and Taya Coe. The awards were presented by Ms Melissa Rees.

Shayleen Coe, Kalais Buerckner, Mariah Caliss, Aaliyah Kirby, Charli Coe, Ezekiel Sauerbier, Tayla Venables, Jermaine Davis and Tyler Perry were acknowledged with Encouragement Awards.

These awards were presented by Mr Steven Maier.

The Principal’s Award was presented to Shaylee Saunders. Mrs Wendy Scarce presented the award.

Chantelle Dargin, Ezekiel Coe and Amali Haworth collected the AECG Awards. These were presented by Mrs Wendy Scarce.

Photography Competition winners – Colour: Shontay Solomon (first), Chloe Smith (second) and Taieshia Capewell (third).

Photography Competition – Nature winners: Shontay Solomon (first), Shontay Solomon (second) and Lorraina O’Dell (third).

Photography Competition – People winners: Jalanah Read (first), Shaylee Saunders (second) and Shaylee Saunders (third).

Champion Piece was won by Jalanah Read. Ms Sheree Brandy presented the awards.

Cutting of the Celebration Cake was done by Charli Coe and Ezekiel Sauerbier.

Last Updated: 01/09/2021By

Latest News