Local Government Elections

Medcalf is Mayor of Lachlan Shire

• Paul Phillips (left) of Lake Cargelligo is now Lachlan Shire’s new Deputy Mayor after an Extra Ordinary meeting of Council was held last Wednesday. He will hold the position for the next 12 months. John Medcalf from Tottenham was voted in as Mayor, and will hold the position for the next two years. MB

By Melissa Blewitt

Councillor John Medcalf will be Mayor of Lachlan Shire for the next two years.
He was elected at an Extraordinary Council meeting held last Wednesday.
Mayor Medcalf, who has served a total of 25 years to date on Lachlan Shire Council, was honoured with the result.
“I am very proud and honoured to again take on the role as Mayor and I’m looking forward to a positive and productive two years ahead working with the new Council for the benefit of the various communities in Lachlan,” he said.
‘A’ Ward Councillor John Medcalf was elected to Council in 1991. Born in Condobolin and raised in Tottenham, Mayor Medcalf is well known for his long standing involvement with the community.
Mayor Medcalf lives in Tottenham with his wife Jane, and has two children and four grand-children. Owning and managing his own family farming enterprise, Mayor Medcalf has a focus on making a difference for future generations.
The Lachlan Shire Deputy Mayor position was contested by Councillor Dave Carter (C Ward), Councillor Max Frankel (D Ward) and Councillor Paul Phillips (E Ward).
Councillor Paul Phillips from Lake Cargelligo was voted in as Deputy Mayor for the next 12 months.
Mr Phillips said he was honoured to be elected Deputy Mayor and looked forward to representing not only ‘E’ Ward but the entire Lachlan Shire.
Mayor Medcalf was elected unopposed, and was officially declared by returning officer Lachlan Shire Council (LSC) General Manager Robert Hunt. Mayoral elections are now held every two years.

Curent councillors and know your candidates for the council election


• Current councillors. Lachlan Shire residents will head to the polls on 10 September, to vote for the people they want to represent them for the next four years at a local level. Four of the current councillors have been re-elected unopposed – John Medcalf, Brian Nelson, Mark Hall and Paul Phillips. There are new candidates in B, C and D Wards that will challenge for a seat in the Chamber against sitting councillors..MB

By Melissa Blewitt

There will be at least one female councillor representing the Lachlan Shire after the Local Government election next month.

Councillor Candidates have nominated for the upcoming election, to be held on 10 September.

There are five new nominating candidates, three of whom are women.

Candidates in Wards A (John Medcalf and Brian Nelson) and E (Mark Hall and Paul Phillips) have been elected unopposed.

Long serving Councillor Des Manwaring has chosen not to re-contest the 2016 election.

He represented B Ward.

Residents will head to the polls to decide B, C and D wards.

The candidates for B Ward are (all candidates appear in the same order as they will on the ballot paper) Melissa Blewitt, Melissa Rees and Les Saunders.

C Ward will see four candidates contesting for two councillor positions – Peter Harris, Graham Scott, Dave Carter and Dennis Brady.

Residents in D Ward will choose between Elizabeth Levy, John Ridley or Max Frankel.

Lachlan Shire Council is reminding residents that they can vote before Election Day as a pre-poll or postal voter if you:

  • Will not be in your ward or council area on Election Day.
  • Will be more than 8km from a polling place in your ward or council area on Election Day.
  • Will be travelling which prevents you from attending a polling place on Election Day.
  • Have serious illness or condition that prevents you from attending a polling place on Election Day.
  • Are approaching maternity.
  • Have religious membership or beliefs that prevent you from attending a polling place on Election Day.
  • Are residing in a correctional centre and are precluded from attending any polling place on Election Day (Postal Vote Only).
  • Are caring for a person outside of a hospital setting who is seriously ill, which prevents you from attending a polling place on Election Day.
  • Will be working on Election Day.
  • Are a silent elector.
  • Are a person with a disability.
  • Believe that attending a polling place on Election Day will place your personal safety, or that of your family members, at risk.

Pre-poll voting will be available at Lachlan Shire Council Office 58 – 64 Molong Street Condobolin from Monday, 29 August until Friday, 9 September.

For more information the votensw.info website outlines how, when, where and who has to vote so please visit votensw.info or phone 1300 135 736.

  • Lachlan Shire residents can check to see which Ward they are enrolled in by visiting www.votensw.info, click on the check my enrolment icon, then on the enrolment verification facility link, and then fill in the appropriate information. Election day is 10 September. MB
© 2010 Condobolin Argus - Design by Upside Down Websites